• Sunday, September 27, 2020

states for new york quarantine

States on the New York Quarantine List
August 5, 2020
By , Writer

How quickly the tides have turned. New York, once the epicenter of COVID-19 just a few months ago, is now the model student for the country. No surprise; we’re New Yorkers and do what we need to do. While restaurants have reopened for outdoor seating and we’re getting back to a relative normal, the pandemic is far from over. Governor Cuomo recently made this statement: “New York’s success in fighting the COVID-19 virus is under two threats: lack of compliance and the virus coming to New York from other states with increasing infection rates.”

The solution? Welcome to the 14-day quarantine. If you come from any of the following 30+ states/territories, that’s your requirement upon entering New York:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

It’s all a numbers game as to who gets on the restricted list, based on seven-day case averages, so it changes rapidly. The new protocols will help tracers to crack down on potential asymptomatic and presymptomatic spreaders from states where numbers are high. If you’re coming from a hot spot, it is a good idea to get tested. Noncompliance threatens progress the state has made in recent months, and Cuomo is serious. Fines range from $2,000 for first offenders up to $10,000. Luckily, for those who are traveling from hot spots, we have some of the best takeout and delivery in New York for your time indoors. So welcome to NYC, once you’ve done your 14-day quarantine.